Asia Cup 2022: To be held in August-September in Sri Lanka, India-Pakistan will clash before T20 World Cup

For the last 3-4 years, the Asia Cup was being postponed due to different reasons, but now its dates have been stamped.

Teams of India and Pakistan will face each other at least twice this year.

Image Credit source: AFP

India and Pakistan (India vs Pakistan) The men’s cricket teams will take on the field against each other more than once this year. T20 World Cup to be held in Australia later this year (ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022) There will be a collision of both the countries. Now just before this, a match will be played between the two teams. This match will be played in Sri Lanka, where this year’s Asia Cup (Asia Cup 2022 Announced) Tournament will be organized. The Asian Cricket Council on Saturday 19 March approved the organization of this year’s Asia Cup. The tournament will be organized from late August to early September.

The confusion surrounding the Asia Cup for the last two years finally ended on Saturday. Although the tournament was to be held in Sri Lanka in 2020, but then it was postponed for a year due to Corona. After that it could not be organized even in 2021. Then the real organizer of the Asia Cup in 2022 was Pakistan, which will now host it in 2023. It was agreed to organize the tournament in T20 format this time. This was formally agreed upon at the Annual General Meeting of the Asian Cricket Council on Saturday 19 March and the tournament will start from 27 August.

Events from August 27 to September 11

The dates of the tournament were informed through a tweet by the Asian Cricket Council. According to this, the tournament will start in Sri Lanka from 27 August this year, which will run till 11 September. Although the format of Asia Cup remains ODI, but this time it will be played in T20 format. Apart from this, qualifier matches will be held from August 20.

In this six-team tournament, five Test-rated teams from Asia – India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and Afghanistan have got direct entry, while the sixth team will be decided on the basis of qualifier matches.

Most titles of India

The Asia Cup was first organized in the UAE in 1984. Since then, this tournament has been played 15 times between Asian teams. In this, India has won the title for the maximum number of times. India is the current champion of the tournament. Team India won its title in 2018 under the captaincy of Rohit Sharma.

Also read: ICC WWC 2022: Mithali Raj, after the defeat, held these people responsible, said a big deal about the next two matches

Source link

Leave your vote

Related Articles

Back to top button

Log In

Forgot password?

Forgot password?

Enter your account data and we will send you a link to reset your password.

Your password reset link appears to be invalid or expired.

Log in

Privacy Policy

Add to Collection

No Collections

Here you'll find all collections you've created before.